Handeling It

We are officially five weeks into the semester at Arkansas State University and I’m sure you have already heard these three questions. When is the last day to drop a class? What’s the homework assignment? and is there free food?  College can be overwhelming and if you’re thinking about dropping a class; don’t. Push through, you can handle this.  As far as the homework assignment goes, everything is ALWAYS on the syllabus (I learned that one the hard way). Free food is hard to come by, the vending machine is your new life source.

Trying to handle school, work, and a personal life is a difficult thing to do. It can feel like a juggling act. The first couple of weeks of the semester I felt like I was juggling while walking a tightrope over a pool full of sharks. It was not good. I was missing assignments and forgetting about quizzes, something I had never done before. I was stressing myself out because I couldn’t remember what I needed to do.  One of my Professors told me to start using a planner. That book you buy and never fill out, use it. It helped me get back on track with school. I was now more aware of what I had to do through the week because I could see what needed to be done.  I haven’t missed an assignment since.

Getting an education is a privilege that shouldn’t be taken for granted.  It is easy to get distracted by life’s problems, maybe a relationship ended, someone in your family passed away or you’re going through a financial problem. Remember, what you are doing now is going to pay off in the future. Every class you pass is one step closer to graduation and that is one step closer to your career. You can handle this.

Leave a Reply

